Isolation Nation: A Playlist for the (Mildly) Covid-Positive

20 songs (+3 bonus) to define this period of self-isolation

Ria Tagulinao
4 min readJan 12, 2022
Photo from the author

There are three specific things that have been a balm to my soul this pandemic: writing, music, and my Telegram group chat. Maybe if I combine all three, I can create some kind of super balm? For myself and for everybody?

As of writing, everyone in our group chat is either confirmed with Covid (this includes me), down with the flu, or in quarantine due to close contact with someone who’s positive.

My Telegram has been buzzing (Well, it has been very active ever since the pandemic happened — but this is an extraordinary level of clinginess). I’d love it if I didn’t hate the reason for the uptick in activity. But here we are: My friends and I keeping tabs on each other, greeting each other good morning, sending food pics and medicine recommendations and memes and news bits.

We’ve been doing group video calls and I don’t even know why. We’re all just on our beds, with our phones/laptops obviously in awkward places. Our sick faces on-screen look like big, shiny (or matte, depending on who’s taken a bath) dinner plates. We entertain ourselves. I annoy them with my face.

--

--

Ria Tagulinao

Fun-sized Filipina Writer | To stay up-to-date with my work, here's my Sunday newsletter: http://riatagulinao.substack.com